The Girls of Little House on the Prairie: Country School

DVD Release: January 20, 2009
The Girls of Little House on the Prairie: Country School


The first collection follows Laura and Mary as they enter a new school in Walnut Grove. The 3 episodes included follow the Ingalls’ girls as they meet new classmates, prepare for spring dance and perform plays with their new found friends. Selected episodes include “Country Girls”, “The Spring Dance”, and “Little Women”.

Dove Review

Everyone loved “The Little House On the Prairie” series. In this DVD they have collected three episodes that deal with the issues the Ingalls’ girls have in school. In the first episode “ Country Girls” Laura and Mary attend a real school for the first time. They are picked on by Nellie and some of the other city kids. Their pa tells them to remember, “ Do onto others as you would have them do onto you. In “ Spring Dance” the school and town have an annual spring dance. Mary has a date, and Laura doesn’t. She is very interested in one boy and she gets to go to the dance with a partner. In “ Little Women” the girls in school have read a lot of books. When teacher decides to do several plays from the books they have read, Laura, Mary, Ginny and Nellie pick “Little Women” to perform. Not everyone is as excited to practice at Nellie’s house as Ginny is.

This series always puts emphasis on family and respecting others. Plus there is always a valuable lesson to learn. This DVD collection is awarded the Dove “Family- Approved“ Seal.

Content Description

Faith: None
Integrity: None
Sex: None
Language: Laura says “ That’s like wanting to go to Hell instead of Heaven.” H word is used as a place and not a swear word.
Violence: Laura sword fights with a boy and then wrestles him to the ground. Laura pushes a boy in the creek.
Drugs: None
Nudity: None
Other: None


Company: Lionsgate
Director: William Claxton
Genre: Serials/Shorts
Runtime: 140 min.
Reviewer: Judy Horan